Archived Story

Tigers’ players honored in post-season banquet

Published 9:00am Thursday, January 20, 2011

The members of the Hartselle varsity football and cheerleading teams were honored at a banquet Thursday night at First United Methodist Church of Hartselle following a 12-2 season.
The Tigers piled up plenty of accomplishments this season, including the program’s second 12-win season in two years and a trip to the Class 5A semifinals.
Over the past three years, Hartselle has won 34 games to equal the school record. During that time, the Tigers made two quarterfinal appearances and one semifinal appearance.
Hartselle also set a school mark this season for points scored in a season with 459.
Senior members of the Hartselle varsity football team were Malcolm Fossett, Will Lang, Chance Partlow, Terry Wiggins, Isaiah Fowler, James Seiglock, Jackson Reeves, Jake Kimbrell, Hayden Dye, Ryland Blankenship, Austin Borden, Brian Malone, Jared Appleton, Will Tiffin and Jacob Garrison.
The Virgil Starks Memorial Academic Award was presented to Partlow for achieving the highest grade point average among senior football players with a 4.09.
Four senior football players – Kimbrell, Garrison, Lang and Partlow – had grade point averages of over 4.0 this year.
Former Morgan County High School standout Jim Eidson was inducted into the Hartselle football hall of fame. He played defensive line for the Tigers from 1969-71.
Eidson went on to play on the offensive line at Mississippi State where he was an all-SEC pick and in the National Football League with the Dallas Cowboys.
He was a member of the Cowboys’ team that played in Super Bowl XII.
Senior members of the Hartselle varsity cheerleader squad were head cheerleader Laken Hamilton, co-head Mary Emily Greenhill, Whitney Byford, Sarah Ellis, Abby McHugh and Meghan Stephenson.
Hamilton received the team’s award for highest grade point average with a 4.0.
Hamilton and Mary Emily Greenhill were both honored with leadership awards.
Stephenson was honored with the squad’s spirit award, while Byford received the award for best attitude.
McHugh was honored for having the most determination.
The Katherine Ann Sims Academic Award for the most dedicated cheerleader was presented to Ellis.
Other members of the varsity team were co-head Slone Godsey, Amy Anders, Caitlin Clardy, Arin Eddy, Sarah Ellis, Zana Malcolm, Haley Patterson, Elizabeth Puckett and Haley Neal.
Shelby Harris was honored at the banquet for serving as Hartselle’s mascot, Champ, during the season.

Editor's Picks