The 11 Hartselle High School Drama Club members who received superior ratings are, from left, (front) Emily Sandlin, Devin Hale, Sara Winton, Destinee French, (middle) Lexi Johnson, Foster Levine, Samantha Drake, Morgan Byrd, (back) Nick Watson, Hunter Grantland and Ellis Womack. | Special to the Enquirer

Archived Story

11 earn superior ratings at district

Published 9:52pm Tuesday, December 4, 2012

Eleven members of the Hartselle High School Drama Club received superior ratings at district competition at Florence High School Nov. 3 and advanced to the state competition on Nov. 30 and Dec. 1.

The following students received superior ratings and competed at state Fri., Nov. 30, and Sat., Dec. 1.

• Foster Levine – “Time to Dance” – Contemporary Dramatic

• Emily Sandlin & Hunter Grantland – “Mime on a Mission” – Duet Pantomime

• Morgan Byrd – “I Can Hear the Bells” – Comedic Musical

• Samantha Drake – “Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again” – Dramatic Musical

• Morgan Byrd & Samantha Drake – “The One Feathered Tail of Miss Gertrude McFuzz/ Amazing Mazie” – Duet Comedic Musical

• Destinee French & Lexi Johnson – “Revealed” – Duet Dramatic Reader’s Theatre

• Ellis Womack – “Bilbo’s Birthday Speech” – Contemporary Dramatic

• Ellis Womack – “Confrontation” – Duet Contemporary Dramatic

• Sara Winton – “The Cradle Song” – Contemporary Dramatic

• Devin Hale – ‘Can’t Bear It” – Contemporary Dramatic

The HHS Drama club performed in individual events and performed in a Studio Theatre Performance entitled “The Ever After.”

This is the club’s first year to compete at Trumbauer Competition.

The students who participated were Jennifer Bloodworth, Hailey Bunney, Morgan Byrd, Samantha Drake, Destinee French, Hunter Grantland, Sarah Gurganious, Devin Hale, Kaila Harkey, Raegan Howard, Lexi Johnson, Brantley Keliinoi, Clay Knight, Foster Levine, Lauren Manley, Tylar Pitt, Ariel Richey, Luisa Ronnsiek, Emily Sandlin, Jasmin Schaffer, Elisa Senst, Ashley Skaggs, Destiny Suggs, Rena Walker, Nick Watson, Sara Winton and Ellis Womack.

Editor's Picks