Archived Story

Precincts for special election announced

Published 11:47am Thursday, January 17, 2013

A Special Election has been called by Gov. Robert Bentley to fill the vacancy in Alabama House District 11, created by the resignation of Rep. Jeremy Oden, who was appointed to the Alabama Public Service Commission.

The elections are as follows: Primary Election, Tuesday, Feb. 12, Primary Runoff Election Tuesday, March 26, and the General Election Tuesday, May 7.

House District 11 boundaries consists of parts of Blount, Cullman, and Morgan County. There are six precincts in Morgan County that will be participating in these elections. 24-1 Brewer High School, 7-1 Cotaco School, 26-1 Ebenezer Fire Station, 25-1 Eva Fire Station, 23-1 Oden Ridge, 27-1 Gum Pond Fire Station and 10-1 Ryan Baptist.

However, because of the way the House District 11 lines are drawn, not all of the voters living in these precincts will be eligible to vote in this election, only those within the Alabama House District 11 boundaries. If you are unsure as to whether or not you fall in the District 11 boundaries, please call your local County Board of Registrars.

Editor's Picks