Archived Story

Danville beauty pageant winners announced

Published 9:32am Wednesday, April 24, 2013

The Danville School Beauty Pageant winners are announced as follows:

• Tiny Miss Danville winner, Alivia Wiley; first alternate, Addison Prater; second alternate and Miss Congeniality, Alexandria Millsap.

• Little Miss Danville winner, Shelby Barber; first alternate, Cail Grace Vice; second alternate and Miss Congeniality, Faith Parker.

• Pre-Teen Miss Danville winner, Madalynn Lambert; first alternate, Sydney Smith; second alternate, Llayney Skinner; and Miss Congeniality Willoe McBride.

• Miss Jr. Danville winner, Natalie Smith; first alternate and Miss Congeniality, Mary Frances Shelton; second alternate, Alaina Wiley.

• Miss Danville winner and Miss Congeniality, Stephanie Holland; first alternate, Shelby Goodwin; second alternate, Sarah Bonones.

Congratulations to all of the beautiful young ladies.

The McKendree ladies night-out group met on Tues., April 9, at the Cracker Barrel in Hartselle for supper and a meeting. They had a devotional and shared prayer concerns.

.The regular meetings are held at the home of a member on the second Tuesday of each month. Everyone enjoyed a good supper and fellowship. The president of the unit is Melee Laney. This organization of ladies is the former Working Guild group from several years ago. The McKendree members and community ladies will remember the Mother and Daughter Banquet they sponsored each year. Anyone wishing more information about this unit can call 256-462-3875.

Special belated happy birthday wishes go out this week to Sarah Logan on April 15; Lelderine Lacey on April 17; Peyton Evans on April 18; Dale Boyd and Stoshia Logan, both on April 20; and Callie Parker and Emma Parker, both on April 21.

Happy birthday wishes also go out this week to Corbin Mears on April 25; Braylin Greenhaw on April 26; Wesley Taylor on April 26; Doris Clark and Carden Roden on April 28; and Ginger Campbell on April 29.

Members of McKendree United Methodist Church will be celebrating “United Methodist Women’s Day” on Sun., April 28, at the 10:45 a.m. worship service. Carolyn Besnyl, president of the UMW, will give some of the unit’s history and a summary of the past year’s activities.

The outstanding member for the year will be announced and will receive the UMW service pin and award. The organization that preceded the UMW was the Women’s Society of Christian Service, the USCS. McKendree had a very active society in the 1940s.

They had many fundraisers and helped with other church events to obtain money for the new church.

The new church was completed and dedicated in early 1947. The WSCS remained active and the leaders for several decades were: Mattie Dobbs, Gertrude Penn, Rachel Bryant, Flora Aycock, Ruth Maples and Audie Thomason. In 1997, McKendree Church Pastor Bro. Virgil Bohn helped to get a new group organized. The president has been Carolyn Besnyl for 16 years.

The first membership in 1997 included Earline Morris, Azalea Anders, Billie Grace Bell, Doris Herring, Ruth Morris, Kay Farrer, Lorene Bryant, Audie Thomason, Jean Lawrence, Irene Bohn, Lois Penn and Flora Aycock. Former and current members and their families are invited to the service on UMW Sunday. There will be a section of the sanctuary reserved for them.

Special belated happy wedding anniversary wishes go out this week to Buddy and Ruby Lacy on their 42nd wedding anniversary Wed., April 17; and Johnny and Belinda Vest on their 15th wedding anniversary Thur., April 18.

Special belated happy birthday wishes go out this week to Wilda Jones, who enjoyed celebrating her 90th birthday on April 12. She enjoyed celebrating with family and friends and eating out. Congratulations Wilda and God bless you!

Special get-well wishes go out this week to Howard Vest of the Basham community.

Christian love and heartfelt sympathy go out this week to Alice Nace of the Cedar Creek community and to Linda Clemons of Neel in the death of their father, Thurman Smith.

Peggy Rogers of the Johnson Chapel community is still recovering at the home of her daughter, Pam Chaffin in Spanish Fort. She is now able to walk with a walker. Everyone please continue to keep her and husband Lewie in your prayers.

The members of Shady Grove Baptist Church express Christian love and heartfelt prayers for the following who are on the church prayer list: Brandon Turrentine, Kaitlin Hollis, Adam Anderson, Michelle Burcham, Syble Anders, Loretta H. Headly, Judy and Jim Barlow, Beulah Lane, Robert and Bertha Self, Evon Vest, Paula McCravy, Sidney Woznicki, Edward Kelso, Olivia Alred, Penny Hazel, Kristy Bonds, Tut McCaghren, Sherry Anderson and Mr. Bobby.

Editor's Picks