Archived Story

New high school to host open house, C of C banquet

Published 10:40am Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Hartselle’s new high school on Bethel Road will host a ribbon cutting and open house on Sunday and the Hartselle Area Chamber of Commerce’s annual banquet and awards presentation on Tuesday.

The ribbon cutting ceremony will be conducted at 1:30 p.m. on the grounds in front of the main building, followed by a short program in the auditorium (if ready for use) at 2 p.m. The open house will follow, with student Ambassadors serving as tour guides, until 4 p.m. Light refreshments will be served in the cafeteria.

Sponsored by the Hartselle High School Alumni Association, the event is free and open to the public.

Principal Jeff Hyche said invitations were mailed to former teachers and other school officials.

“We expect a big crowd,” Hyche said, “but people will be coming and going so there should be plenty of parking space.”

Visitors are advised to enter the school campus from Bethel Road and use the student parking lot on the north side of the main building.

The school will be opened to the public again on Tuesday, April 30, for the annual Hartselle Area Chamber of Commerce Banquet, which will be held in the cafeteria.

A reception with light refreshments is planned from 5:30 to 6:30 p.m. During this time, chamber members and guests will have the opportunity to spend some time socializing as well as touring the school with the guidance of HHS Ambassadors.

A dinner catered by Ann’s Café and Gourmet will follow at 6:30 p.m.

Hartselle Schools Superintendent Dr. Mike Reed will be the keynote speaker.

Three individuals will be recognized as recipients of the Dr. Thomas Guyton Humanitarian Award, E.R. Roberts Business Person of the Year and the Sen. John J. Sparkman Citizenship Award.

Also recognized will be outgoing and incoming officers and directors.

Officers for 2013 are Mark Waters, serving in his second term as chairman of the board;

Dwight Hamersley, chairman elect; and Freda Thompson, secretary.

Outgoing directors are Ben Peck, Jeff Redmond, Kathy Goodwin, Anna Wilson and Sandra Fowler.

Incoming directors are Larry Murphree, Randy Garrison, Nancy Busby, Rob Payne and Les McCollum.

Banquet tickets are $30 per person and will be available at the Chamber office through Thurs., April 25.

Editor's Picks