Students who had the highest sales for their respective schools received awards at a Unity in Community Celebration at Brewer High School. Those receiving their choice of a $100 gift certificate or an autographed University of Alabama football were:  Josie Frost, Brewer; Mandi Steelman and Abby Johnson, Cotaco; Blake Hale, Danville High; Brooke Harbin, Danville Middle; Tyler Dodgen, Danville-Neel Elementary; Tristan Poole, Eva; Savannah Robinson, Falkville Elementary; Amber Wright, Falkville High; Cliff McCutcheon, Lacey’s Spring; Chris Lander, Learning Center; Hayden Burke and Alex Smith, Priceville Elementary; Autumn Esack, Priceville High; Kane Dunn, Sparkman; Christine Hillis, Union Hill; Kaden Cooke and Emma Price, West Morgan Elementary; Kenya Redus, West Morgan High; and Austin Elliott, West Morgan Middle.

Archived Story

Unity in Community winners

Published 10:56am Wednesday, May 8, 2013

Morgan County Schools Foundation conducted a Unity in Community Celebration at Brewer High School on Thursday night as a means of thanking everyone who participated in a system-wide candle fundraiser earlier this year.

Foundation president Cheryl Burns said the project netted $50,000 in total sales and left a profit of over $25,000 for the Foundation’s fund. Board President Cheryl Burns welcomed a large crowd to the school gym after a group of about 100 students held lighted candles and formed the word “UNITY” on the gym floor. She also expressed appreciation to school personnel, students. parents and their friends and neighbors who purchased candles during the fundraiser last January.

“This is the first time all of the schools in the Morgan County system have joined together to conduct a fundraiser,” Burns stated. “We wanted everyone to know the direction we were going in building up the schools foundation.” It gives us a big morale boost as we prepare to reach out to the larger community of business and industry for their support of the foundation.”

Superintendent Bill Hopkins Jr. said one of his priorities when he assumed office was to help get a foundation started.

“The Foundation board is independent of the school system,” he pointed out, “and I’m pleased with in direction in which it is headed. “It’s going to be a great asset to our school system. One of its commitment is to help fund the Leader in Me Program that’s being implemented in all of our schools.”

Gina White, a science teacher at Sparkman School, received a gift certificate for being the teacher with the highest sales. Angela Kim-brough, a teacher at Brewer High School, won a $1,000 door prize.

Editor's Picks