Archived Story

10 officials recognized for distinguished

Published 4:14pm Tuesday, August 6, 2013

Ten veteran contest officials were recognized Saturday at the 2013 AHSAA Officials Awards Luncheon held at the Renaissance Hotel and Convention Center. The luncheon was the last function of this year’s All-Star Sports Week and Summer Conference, which included the annual Officials banquet for the first time.

The 17th annual All-Star Sports Week is an event of the Alabama High School Athletic Association and hosted by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association (AHSADCA). Bob Gardner, Executive Director of the National Federation of High School Associations (NFHS), gave the keynote address to the crowd of more than 250 Saturday.

The Distinguished Service Award was presented David Bernard of Opelika, Jerry Frederick of Tuscumbia, Walter Garrett of Birmingham, Earnest Jackson of Birmingham, James McDonald of Brewton, Loomis McMillian of Evergreen, Larry Stinson of Dothan, Dan Summers of Montgomery, Larry Vinson of Decatur and Frank Watford of Newbern. McDonald is deceased.

Stinson’s 47 years as a football official in the Wiregrass topped the group that has amassed a total of 375 years officiating between them. Watford and Summers have been officiating for 41 years, Frederick for 40, followed by Jackson (38), McMillian (36), Bernard, Garrett, McDonald and Vinson, all with 33 years.

AHSAA Director of Officials Greg Brewer also announced eight active officials who were selected State Officials of the Year.: Keith Turberville (Baseball); Charles Reed (Basketball); Chris Garner (Football); Kevin Ashley (Soccer); Recie Armstrong (Softball); David York (Track); Deb Lipscomb (Volleyball); Josh Bierman (Wrestling).

Individual 2012-13 district officials of the year were also announced and the 246 officials who participated in state championships in 2012-13 were recognized. Tony Harris, a Montgomery official who served as the event’s master of ceremonies, was the only official to work in two championship events – the Class 3A football finals at Jordan-Hare Stadium and the Class 2A baseball finals at Riverwalk Stadium

Among those officials honored was Vic Wilson, superintendent of Hartselle City Schools. He worked his first Final 48 at in 2013.

Editor's Picks