Archived Story

Qualifying ends for local races

Published 12:26pm Friday, February 14, 2014

Six republicans and one democrat have qualified to run for Morgan County Commissioner of Licenses after incumbent Sue Baker Roan chose not to seek another tern.

Republicans who have qualified for the position include Wade Dinsmore, Hilda Etienne, Van Glasscock, Sharon Maxwell, Jerry “J.D.” Smith and Carolyn Wallace.

Sonya Patterson was the only democrat to qualify for the post being vacated by Roan.

County Commission District 2 will also be a hotly-contested position in Morgan County, as incumbent Randy Vest will face challengers Thomas “Tommy” Halbrooks, Martha A. Barber Humphrey, Robert Irvin and Hal “Buster” Lee.

Ana Franklin will be challenged by Randy Cavnar and Darrell L. Childers for the Morgan County Sheriff’s race.

Ed Henry will face Melvin Hastings for State House District 9. Jeff Clark will face off against Randy J. Turner for County Commission District 1.

Incumbent Jeff Chunn and Earl L. Holt qualified for Coroner. Lance Stidham will oppose incumbent Mike Tarpley for School Board District 3.

Cynthia McCarty and Patricia McGriff are running for State Board of Education District 6.

The following candidates are unopposed: State House District 4 – Micky Hammon, State House District 8 – Terri Collins, State House District 11 – Randall Shedd, State Senate District 3 – Arthur Orr, District Judge, Place 1 – Brent Craig, District Judge, Place 3 – Charles B. Langham, Commissioner of Revenue – Amanda G. Scott, School Board Superintendent – Bill W. Hopkins Jr. and School Board 6 – Tom Earwood.

Editor's Picks