Archived Story

Clark seeks fifth term on commission

Published 11:32am Wednesday, May 14, 2014

Incumbent Morgan County District I Commissioner Jeff Clark, R-Priceville, is seeking reelection for his fifth consecutive term, subject to the June 3 Primary Election.

Clark said he is a candidate because he wants to continue to encourage and work with business and industry to grow jobs, promote education and support quality of life endeavors for all Morgan Countians.

“We now have a commission that works together as a team and has a strong relationship with other governing bodies in the county and North Alabama,” Clark pointed out. “We also have managed to operate within our own means and increase reserve funds without raising taxes.

He listed as major accomplishments county government has been a part of over the past four years, the following:

•Partnered with Huntsville and Madison County to bring Remington Manufactur-ing Co. to Huntsville, a move that will eventually create 3,000 new jobs

•Partnered with the City of Decatur and Calhoun Community College to build the Fine Arts Center on Second Ave. in Decatur

•Partnered with Decatur to build a Morgan County Jail Annex with the capacity to serve all Morgan County

In District 1, a turn lane was added to a section of North Bethel Road leading from Upper River Road to the new Priceville High School construction site, work is underway to provide tennis courts and an outdoor basketball court at North Park and a site has been cleared as a future location for a new West Morgan High School in Trinity.

Clark served as chairman of the Morgan County Soil and Water Conservation District, vice chairman of Mountains, Rivers and Valleys RC&D Council, District 4 board member of the Association of County Commissions of Alabama and a board member of the System of Services of Morgan County.

He and his wife Annette have been married for 19 years, have five children and are members of 9th Street United Methodist Church.

District 1 covers the northwest corner of Morgan County and includes the municipalities of Decatur, Priceville and Trinity.

Editor's Picks