Archived Story

Voters head to the polls

Published 12:29pm Tuesday, June 3, 2014

The turnout for the 2014 primary election Tuesday appears to be lighter than expected, according to local officials.

Probate Judge Greg Cain said he believes a voter turnout will be between 40 and 50 percent after visiting several polls early Tuesday morning.

“I would describe it as light to moderate turnout,” Cain said. “It’s a less than what I expected coming into today, but my expectations may have been too high.”

Voters are voting on many local, county and state primary races. The majority of the races were in the Republican primary.

The only races voted on in the Democratic primary in Morgan County were for governor between Kevin Bass and Parker Griffith and state Democratic executive committee between George Hearring and Franklin D. Turney.

The Republican ballot is much more crowded, featuring as many as 16 races.

Among the local races, Melvin Hasting is challenging Ed Henry for State Representative District 9.

Wade Dinsmore, Hilda Etienne, Van Glasscock, Sharon Maxwell, Jerry “J.D.” Smith and Carolyn Wallace are all running for Morgan County License Commissioner, after Sue Baker Roan decided not to run again.

Incumbent Jeff Clark is facing Randy J. Turner for Commission District 1 while Randy Vest is being opposed by Tommy Halbrooks, Martha Humphrey, Robert Irvin and Hal “Buster” Lee for Commission District 2.

Ana Franklin is facing Randy Cavnar and Darrell Childers for the Morgan County Sheriff position.

Incumbent Mike Tarpley is facing Lance Stidham for County Board of Education District 3.

Jeremy Oden of Eva is also being challenged by Kathy Peterson for Public Service Commission Place 1.

Robert Bentley is being challenged by Bob Starkey and Morgan County’s Stacy George for the governor’s position.

Kay Ivey faces opposition from Stan Cooke for the lieutenant governor’s race. Mo Brooks is also opposed by Jerry Hill for District 5. U.S. Representative

Cain said they haven’t had any major issues regarding voting in Morgan County.

The polls will close at 7 p.m. Tuesday.


Editor's Picks